Keystone Mutual Enters Mo. Medical Malpractice Market

St. Louis, Mo.-based Keystone Mutual Insurance Co. recently announced that it is accepting applications from Missouri physicians for professional liability insurance upon being awarded a license Dec. 31 by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration.

“We’re open for business,” said James R. Bowlin, Keystone’s chairman and chief executive officer.

Joining Bowlin, general counsel for the American Association of Orthodontists, on the Keystone board of directors are Missouri physicians, jurists, insurance experts and business leaders, including: Katie Steele Danner, a former state legislator who also served as the regional director for the United States Department of Health and Human Services; Dr. Joel D. Hassien, a radiologist from Hannibal, Mo; Dr. Jerry D. Kennett, a cardiologist from Columbia who is also immediate past president of the Missouri State Medical Association; Hal E. Kinsey, Jr., the division senior vice-president for Gallagher Healthcare Insurance Services.

Other board members are Board President Scott B. Lakin, former director of the Missouri Department of Insurance; Craig S. McPartlin, the principal owner of Con-Tech Companies; Dr. Jerry N. Middleton, an obstetrician and gynecologist from St. Louis; Marsha L. Mills, the former deputy director of the Missouri Department of Insurance; Dennis A. Nahnsen, president of Missouri Valley Partners; Bruce C. Oetter, an insurance attorney with Bryan Cave LLP; Dr. George K. Parkins, an orthopedic surgeon from Kansas City; and, The Honorable Albert A. Riederer, a former Judge for the Western District Missouri Court of Appeals.
see original